Two does allegedly killed in Amite County, illegally transported back to Louisiana, LDWF says
Four people were cited for alleged deer hunting violations last week by enforcement agents with the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.
Agents cited Edward A. Slaven III, Edward A. Slaven IV, 22, and Donald J. Weaver, all of Denham Springs, and Maegan C. Chavers, 25, of Liberty, Miss., for federal Lacey Act violations, not possessing deer tags, hunting from a public road and moving vehicle, hunting deer during a closed season and illegal hours, not possessing a big game license and possession of illegally taken deer out of season, according to a news release.
Additionally, Slaven IV, Weaver and Chavers were cited for not possessing a basic hunting license, the release states.
Deputies with the Livingston Parish Sheriff’s Office pulled a vehicle over for a moving violation on the night of Aug. 18 at the intersection of Highway 1024 and Highway 16 in Watson and noticed two deer in the back of the truck, the release states.
LDWF agents arrived, and according to the release, the subjects admitted they had tried to hunt deer in Livingston and East Feliciana parishes from their truck, but couldn’t locate one. So they entered Mississippi and allegedly killed two does, the release states.
They transported the deer back into Louisiana, which is a federal Lacey Act violation, according to the release.
All four subjects face additional wildlife charges in Mississippi, and agents seized a 2004 pickup truck, a 12-gauge shotgun, .22 rifle, .357 pistol and two spotlights in the investigation.
The Lacey Act violation brings up to a $10,000 fine and five years in jail. Hunting deer during a closed season, during illegal hours each brings a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail. Possession of an illegally taken deer carries a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail. Hunting from a moving vehicle brings a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail. Hunting from a public road and not possessing deer tags each carries up to a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail. Hunting without basic and big game licenses each brings up to a $50 fine and 15 days in jail, the release states.
JOIN THE CLUB, get unlimited access for $2.99/month
Become the most informed Sportsman you know, with a membership to the Louisiana Sportsman Magazine and LouisianaSportsman.com.