Louisiana's Safe Boating Week set for May 17-23
LDWF agents to be out in force performing safety checks and DWI patrols
The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries is encouraging all boaters to inspect their vessels during the next week to make sure all necessary safety equipment is on board and everything is in good working condition.
With summer boating season fast approaching, the state is once again participating in Safe Boating Week starting Saturday, and the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries is reminding all boaters to be safe and responsible while on the water.
According to a press release from LDWF, which will be conducting safety checks and DWI patrols throughout the week across the state, all vessels need to have enough personal flotation devices on board for all occupants.†
Regulations mandate that anyone 16 years of age and younger must wear a PFD while underway in vessels less than 26 feet long. For more boating and PFD regulations, click here.
Alcohol use is another leading cause of boating crashes, and the release states that penalties for a DWI on the water are the same as on the road.
Anyone cited for a DWI on the water will lose their driver’s license and boating privileges for the time specified by the judge in the case.
LDWF also wants to remind everyone that anybody born after Jan. 1, 1984 is required to successfully complete a National Association of State Boating Law Administrators boating education course to operate a boat over 10 horsepower.
For a list of free classes statewide, click here.
Subscribe Today and Save!!!
Louisiana Sportsman is the complete hunting and fishing magazine for Louisiana.
Devoted to hunting, fishing and other outdoor activities in the wetlands,
Louisiana Sportsman is the information guide for Louisiana's most active hunters and fishermen.