Louisiana Sportsman
20% off Spring Sale
Bass Buster Profile Photo
Tournaments Fishing in Southwest Louisiana

Monzino Buddy World Championship

On Saturday, June 4th I was invited to fish the Mozingo Fishing Festival 2005 Buddy Bass World Championship in Maryville Missouri. Maryville Missouri is over 1000 miles from my hometown of Thibodaux, La. After talking to one of my fishing buddies and fellow Nitro Fishing Team member, Johnny Moore, we decided to head up there and try our luck on a foreign lake. We arrived on Thursday, June 2 to pre-fish, but only fished for a couple of hours due to several weather and rain. We did manage to catch 3-4 keepers (15” up) in scattered grass. We hoped Friday would be better for pre-fishing, but unfortunately, the same weather kept us off of the lake. We were able to attend a promotional event Friday afternoon, which included showing of our team boats, a radio interview with Q Country 92.7 FM, and signing autographs. We had a great time and enjoyed meeting some great Maryville people. Well, then came Saturday, tournament morning. Started out with rain!! We started in the area where we caught the fish on Thursday, but the water muddied up form the rain. We regrouped and started looking for fish. We caught several short fish during the day. Finally, about 30 minutes before weigh in; we caught 3 keepers along with numerous short fish using V & M High Tails in black/red flake on outside grass lines. To bad we didn’t get on this pattern earlier! At the weigh in, we had a T.V. Interview with Roy Roper of Ambush Lures, which sponsored the event. It was great!!! We were able to promoting our sponsors and we were able to thank the good people of Maryville for their hospitality. All in all, we had a great time and hopefully we have the opportunity next year to attend. I’d like to thank all of the guys at Ambush for making us feel right at home. I’d also like to thank all of my sponsors, which make it possible for me to have the opportunity to fish these tournaments. Please check them out the next time your looking for high quality fishing equipment.

Tight Lines,

Bass Buster

Boat City USA http://www.boatcityusa.com
Mercury Outboards http://www.mercuryoutboards.com
Nitro Boats http://www.nitro.com
La. Sportsman Magazine http://www.louisianasprotsman.com
Action Specialties http://www.actionspecialities.com
Falcon Rods http://www.falconrods.com
Costa Del Mar http://costadelmar.com
Fat Ratz Custom Lures http://www.fatratzlures.com
V & M Baits http://www.bayououtdoors.com
Falcon Lures http://www.falconlures.com
Basswax Pro Stick http://www.basswax.com
C.J. Custom Lures http://cjbasscustomlures.com
Hart Tackle http://www.harttackle.com/index.php
Ambush Lures http://www.ambushlures.com
Cooks Tackle Systems http://www.cookstackle.com/
MOJO Lures http://www.marshmaniac.com/

June 17, 2005 at 10:09am

New User? Register
Password? Forgot
Inactive? Activate









featured merchant

Joy McClinthen Realty
Joy McClinthen Realty JMR's core business is Lake Eddins, MS. Lake Eddins is an affordable gated community and wildlife refuge. Centrally located, 30 miles N of Laurel, MS, just 2.5 hr drive from Baton Rouge. Just a 20 minute drive to the new Bok Homa Casino. Area golf cours